Results, Uncategorised

Big Red Cloud Round 3

We had a great day at McCrystals Track for round 3 of the Big Red Cloud. Conditions were as good as you will get but it did get cooler as the day went on. We had competitive racing all round and it all started with our youths. Starting the Day was our fun race. Kal Jennings, Jesse Ruddy and Charlie McDermott smiled all the way around our fun track.

Results are here

Next up the under 8, Jaxon Jennings and Jesse ruddy rode well with Robyn McDermott and Tara Callaghan.

In our U10 Aoife Campbell Square wheels stormed through all the boy’s bar the winner. Molly Turner Orwell was 2nd. Benjamin Cunningham- Orwell had all the good lines winning the boys with  Max McGrath, Fermoy 2nd and Josh Turner Orwell 3rd. The under-12s saw Eunan Campbell and James Cunningham trade places until James went solo toward the end. James took the flag with Eunan 2nd and Josh Turner 3rd. Ava Baker Brefni Wheelers, Ciara O Connor Drogheda and Eire McCrystal have been tightly matched lately and it stayed in that order at the finish line with Ava winning well. Ciara was 2nd and Eire 3rd

Emer Heaverin – Kinning Cycles was well ahead in the U14 girls until a mechanical let her down and the fast Katie turner- Orwell seized her opportunity to take the win ahead of Emer in 2nd and Poppy Hamilton-TC Racing 3rd. Rian McCrystal was 1st in the boys with  Killcullen boys Conor Regan and Daithi Killeen 2nd and 3rd.

Conor Murphy- Rostrevor went from whistle to flag claiming 1st in the boys U16. But the race behind between Fionn Killeen and Daragh Byrne was hotting up for the final two podium spots. Fionn got the gap and held it for 2nd and Darragh 3rd. Aliya Rafferty- Island Wheelers won very convincingly in the U16 Girls riding through most of the senior Women. In 2nd were Faith Robinson and Rhiannan Dolan 3rd.

Another Dominating race was from Aine Doherty -Glendale in the Women. Aine first-year junior took the podium top spot with Caoimhe May – Orwell 2nd and Leah McCarty – Giant 3rd. 1st unplaced master was Heather Foley Yeats Country CC and 1st unplaced Junior was Lauren Murray- TC Racing

Next up was the biggest field of the day. The course was riding really fast all morning and it continued into the senior races. It was the trio Sean Tolan- Drogheda, Daivid Holland -Cuchulainn and Gareth Moran-Unattached that got away from the rest of the field. A mistake in the U sandpit saw Sean Tolan drop the hammer and stay away for the final lap and take the win solo. David Holland had a little too much for Gareth taking 2nd and Gareth 3rd.

All eyes were on the A race with some guys deep in the CX season and some just starting to have a look at the nationals. However, that didn’t deter them from a great race.  Dean Harvey went out as you would expect and instantly was out on his own. Behind Jb Murphy, Darnell Moore, Travis Harkness, and Joseph Mullen were tightly matched. Darren Rafferty was there too but had traffic to go through as he started at the back of the grid. Darren found his way lap after lap and was soon up to the chasing pack and then rode into a clear 2nd place. Dean still had a big gap and didn’t look like losing but a mechanical stopped him in his tracks and all of a sudden Darren was with Dean. Dean stayed calm and got back on pace and never let Darren settle. It was a good race to watch two of the most exciting prospects Ireland has duking it out. Dean rode away again and crossed the line in 1st with Darren taking 2nd on his first outing at the track. Behind Darnell Moore and Joseph Mullen were evenly matched but it was Darnell that proved strongest taking 3rd. The first unplaced Junior was Joseph Mullan. 1st unplaced M40 was David O Neill, M50 was Declan McEntee, M60 was Johnny McCabe.

Thanks to all that helped on the day, Marshals, officials, and Friends!  Also thanks to @DamianFaulkner for the 📸

Also Thank you for the support for today’s event from these guys below


Bryan McCrystal