Leinster Cyclo-cross Championships 2023

Date: Sunday 10 December 2023
Event: Leinster Cyclo-cross Championships
Venue: McCrystals Track
Host club: Bellurgan Wheelers

Address –McCrystals, Jenkinstown, Dundalk, Co Louth. A91KD68
Google Maps – here

Course description
The course is at McCrystal Track in Jenkinstown. One of the very few purpose-built tracks in the country. The course has been redirected in the opposite direction and practice is advised. It is a fast and technical course with the odd muddy section.

Race Registration
Registration opens on Sunday 3 December 2023 at 8 pm and closes on Friday 8 December 2023 at 8 pm. NOTE: There are no registrations on the day.

Link to register here

Race schedule including practice times and prize giving

Time Event Duration
09:00 Registration opens
09:00-11:20 Main course practice 2h 30m
09:00-09:50 Youth course practice (U6, U8, U10, U12) 50m
09:50 Under 6s race 2m
10:00 Under 8s race 5m
10:15 Under 10s race 10m
10:35 Under 12s race 15-20m
10:55 Prize giving for U8, U10, U12 5m
11:00-11:20 Full course practice 20m
11:20 Call up for Under 16s,Women and Under 14s, 10m
11:30 Race start for U16, Women &U14 30m, U16/14

45/50m Women

12:10 Prize giving for U14 and U16,Women 10m
12:10-12:30 Full course practice 20m
12:30 Call up for Junior men, M50, M60 10m
12:40 Race start for Junior men, M50, M60 Junior Men – 40m
M50, M60 – 45m
13:35 Prize giving for Junior men, M50, M60 10m
13:35-13:55 Full course practice 20m
13:55 Call up for Senior men and M40 10m
14:05 Race start for Senior men and M40 50m
15:05 Prize giving for Senior men and M40 10m

Tyre width check
For Juniors (16/17), Seniors and Masters there will be a check on tyre width (max 33 mm)

Race licence

Cycling Ireland riders must hold a 2023/2024 licence either a Limited Competition (LC) or Full Competition (JR, A4, A3, A2, A1, A+).  Youth riders must have a current 2023/2024 licence.
Licences must be presented at sign on.

NOTE: There are no one-day licences available for championship categories (Junior, Senior or Masters)

Leinster medals – eligibility

This is an open event however there are conditions on receiving medals.
Leinster championship medals will only be awarded to riders who satisfy the following criteria
(a) Belonging to a club / team based in the Province;
(b) Unattached and resident in the Province;
(c) Residency in the Province;
(d) Belonging to a club / team based outside Ireland but,
1) Immediate past address was in the Province or
2) Most previous Irish club / team was based in the Province.

Prize list
As this is a championship there will Cycling Leinster medals for the following categories.   No cash prizes to be given out.

Top 3  Junior,
Top 3  Senior,
Top 3 M40,
Top 3 M50,
Top 3 M60,
Top 3 Junior women,
Top 3  Senior women,
Top 3 Masters women (40+),

Top 3  Under 12 & 14 males,
Top 3 Under 12 & 14 females,Top 3 Under 16 males,
Top 3 Under 16 females.

TEAM PRIZE – There must be a minimum of 3 teams of 3 Leinster riders to qualify for a team prize in each category
Leinster Team prize (Senior men’s race)
Leinster Team prize (M40 men’s race)
LeinsterTeam prize (Women’s race)

There will be non-championship races for the Under 6s, Under 8s, Under 10s

Gridding will be based on UCI points and the Leinster cyclo-cross series 2023

Facilities on site
Toilets are available on site
There are no showers or changing rooms

Bike wash
Riders are asked to bring their own water for washing bikes. A hose will be available on-site at the main car park.

Race organiser
Bryan McCrystal- bellurganwheelers@gmail.com
Telephone: 0872204870

Our Race Calender

McCrystals Track has been chosen to host the National Cyclocross Championships 14/15th January 2023. We have many other events in the race calender along with our final and most prestigious race , The Sean Sharkey Memorial.